8 years ago, believe it or not actually to the day, I met one of the best guys I know. A few weeks later I also met his girlfriend, one of the most kind-hearted and caring individuals I will ever have the privilege of calling family and then yesterday I attended their wedding. I was given the honor of being an Usher and was also asked to write something to read at the ceremony. The poem below is the one I wrote for them.

As before each footstep fell on ground
Unknowing we walked our paths alone
But from this moment until my last
Our paths entwined your heart my home

For when fate smiled and brought me you
I found a companion, a love, a friend
To share my life and all that I am
Hand in hand at each days end

I swear before all those I hold dear
That for you my love will forever shield
As each new step we walk together
My strength is yours and shall not yield

So take my hand and with it my soul
And know together we will always be
For as I stand here with you
I promise my love for eternity

Chris and Ali

