One of the things I have always loved about my city (Edinburgh in case you don’t already know) is that you are never more than 10 minutes walk from something green. Be it a public park, the botanical gardens or just the canal that runs through the city there is always something close by.

 

So on Sunday when asked to go for a hike up the Pentland hills I jumped at the chance. Maybe 10 mins drive from my flat they offer some stunning views and a great way to just leave everything behind for a few hours. As if this needed to be made any better is was, I was walking with one of my little sisters who just happens to be one of my favourite people on this planet. I don’t get to spend an awful lot of time with her these day’s as well life just seems to get in the way. But for 13 miles, some insanely steep hills and weather that ranged from bright sunshine to heavy rain (gotta love Scottish weather) it was just us and for a while Dylan too.

 

A touch hungover, a week I only wish I could forget and the promise of a worse one to come all melted away in the hours spent with nothing better to do than walk and talk. The simple things in life really are the best.

 

I took far more photo’s than I would possibly try to bore you with, but here are a few of my favourites.

 

IMAG0269 IMAG0272 IMAG0277 IMAG0278 IMAG0284 IMAG0286 IMAG0291 IMAG0300 IMAG0301 IMAG0309 IMAG0311

